The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

College of Engineering

Engineers Day

Engineers Day Competitions

Quiz Bowl

One of the more popular events during Engineers Day is the Quiz Bowl competition sponsored by Tau Beta Pi (the National Engineering Honor Society). The Quiz Bowl gives visiting students a chance to show how much they know about science and math topics by working in teams of four to complete a thirty-minute written examination consisting of sixty to seventy multiple choice questions. The four teams with the best scores advance to the semifinal round, and the contest concludes with the two top teams going head-to-head for the coveted Quiz Bowl Championship.

Quiz Bowl Winners 2013

In 2013, the team of Jason Fu, David Houg, Shreyai Muraldiham and Ani Perumalla from Farragut High School, won first place. The winning team received a gold trophy as recognition of their achievement.

2nd Place 2013 Quiz Bowl

A second team from Kenwood High School comprised of Ben Edger, Sam Johnson, Duncan Sullivan and David Zhang was awarded a silver trophy for second place. For a complete listing of Quiz Bowl results, download the Quiz Bowl Competition Results.


ASCE Balsa Wood Bridge Competition

Another fun and exciting part of the day is the annual High School Balsa Wood Bridge Competition sponsored by the UT Student Chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Schools are encouraged to participate by constructing miniature balsa wood bridges and bring them to Engineers Day to be tested for structural efficiency.

ASCE Balsa Wood Bridge Competition Winners for 2013

1st Place – Hampton High School, Brenden Arwood and Alaxx Hogan

2nd Place – Morristown West High School, Buck Eanes and Bhaven Patel

3rd Place – Polk County High School, Tristen Cheatham and Walker Hood

For the 2013 competition, download the 2013 Balsa Wood Bridge Competition Results (PDF).


Egg Drop Competition

Team 21 – Julie Le and Lorena Mendoza from East High School
Winner: Team 21 – Julie Le and Lorena Mendoza from East High School

Team 86 – Matthew Maslow from Bearden High School
Runner Up: Team 86 – Matthew Marlow from Bearden High School

The Egg Drop Competition has quickly become one of the most popular events at Engineers Day. Sponsored by the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, the Materials Advantage student chapter, and student chapter of the Society of Plastic Engineers, this competition encourages students to design a device that will protect a "free range" grade A egg from breaking when dropped with the focus being on the materials used to protect the egg.

Egg Drop Winners for 2013

1st Place – Julie Le and Lorena Mendoza. Score: 37.45
School- East High School

2nd Place – Matthew Marlow. Score: 41.03
School- Bearden High School

3rd Place – Drew Holt and Monica Montgomery. Score: 51.99
School- Knoxville Catholic High School

For a complete listing of the results, download the Egg Drop 2013 Results.

Food Battery Competition

Food battery

The Food Battery Competition was sponsored by the University of Tennessee, Materials Research Society (MRS), Student Chapter. Students were asked to design a do-it-yourself battery (or cell) made up with an electrolyte (solid or liquid) from foods only (anything drinkable or edible). This competition serves as a reminder of pressing technological needs that require students to start by getting involved early in seeking feasible solutions that will cause no further harm to our environment.

Team 86 – Matthew Maslow from Bearden High School
MacKenzie Smith

First place for 2013 was awarded to MacKenzie Smith from Pigeon Forge High School. For a complete listing of the results, download 2013 Food Battery Results.



Radiation Shielding Competition

The Radiation Shielding Competition was sponsored by the American Nuclear Society. A radiation shield, simply put, is anything that blocks radiation from an intended target. In this competition, we consider gamma radiation from a laboratory source. Gamma rays are high energy photons speeding through matter until they collide with it. When a gamma ray collides, it deposits energy into the matter. Because gamma rays are so penetrating, it's possible to detect them through other matter (walls, floors, ect...). By using a detector (a device that recognizes incident radiation) we can tell where radiation is coming from.

Radiation Shielding Competition Winners for 2013

1st Place – L & N STEM Academy
Christopher Coley, Lane Cook and Hayden Marshall

2nd Place – Hardin Valley Academy
Cody Nizinski and Sierra Palmer

3rd Place – Cherokee High School
James Gibson, Patrick O'Conner and Jared Taylor.

For a complete listing of the 2013 winners, download the 2013 Radiation Shielding Competition Results.


Solar/Fuel Cell Car Race ("Solar Racer Race")

Solar race Winners
1st Place: Rosa Amaya, Andrew Maultsby, Layla Dougherty.

Solar Race 2nd Place
2nd Place: James Gibson, Garrett Carter, and Alex Sharron.

Solar Race 3rd Place
3rd Place: John Michael Baggett, Alexander Gregg and Jessie Kitts.

The Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) at UTK coordinated the very first Solar/Fuel Cell Car Race ("Solar Racer Race") in Ferris Hall 510 and the fifth floor hallway. Thirteen schools from around Tennessee were represented and had teams of three students each. SHPE wishes to inspire and promote interest and excitement for STEM related disciplines among high school students in our area. The competition involved following instructions to assemble a race car, then exposing the solar panel to light from lamps for electrolysis, until enough hydrogen and oxygen were produced, to then rewire and connect the small motor and the fuel cell together. Once ready the students took the car to the start line and let go to see if they had created enough fuel to reach the finish line, 22 feet away. The big winners were: Pigeon Forge, followed by Cherokee (2nd Place) and Kenwood (3rd). Each student received certificates, UT orange beads, and an "ENGINEERING @ UTK" wristband. First and second place received an etched acrylic trophy. Next year, SHPE is planning already to introduce the very first "Windmill" competition.

Solar/Fuel Cell Car Race Winners for 2013

1st Place – Pigeon Forge High School
Rosa Amaya, Andrew Maultsby, Layla Dougherty.

2nd Place – Cherokee High School
James Gibson, Garrett Carter, and Alex Sharron.

3rd Place – Kenwood High School
John Michael Baggett, Alexander Gregg, and Jessie Kilts.


Exhibit Award Winners for 2013

Class I Exhibits
  • 1st Place - Institute of Industrial Engineers – Industrial & Systems Engineers Make Life Easy!
  • 2nd Place - Pi Tau Sigma: International Mechanical Engineering Honors Society – Engineering For a Better World
  • 3rd Place - Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) – Creating Sustainability in the Future of Transportation
Class II Exhibits
  • 1st Place - American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) – Fire, Ice, and Elephants
  • 2nd Place - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) – Blind Robotic Navigation
  • 3rd Place - UT Amateur Radio Club (UTARC) – Collegiate Amateur Radio at the University of Tennessee
Class III Exhibits
  • 1st Place - College of Engineering Ambassadors – College of Engineering Campus Tours
  • 2nd Place - Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering (MABE) – Wind Tunnel Lab Tour

Contribute to a big idea. Give to UT.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System