The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

College of Engineering


Scintillation Materials Research Center


People

SMRC Faculty, Staff, and Students


Dr. Chuck Melcher

Chuck Melcher
SMRC Director and Research Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

301 Science and Engineering Research Facility
Phone: (865) 974-0254
Fax: (865) 974-4998
Email:
cmelcher@utk.edu


Merry Spurrier

Merry Koschan
Research Associate III, Scintillation Materials Research Center

301 Science and Engineering Research Facility
Phone: (865) 974-0267
Fax: (865) 974-4998
Email:
mkoschan@utk.edu


Mariya Zhuravleva

Mariya Zhuravleva
Research Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

301 Science and Engineering Research Facility
Phone: (865) 974-8440
Fax: (865) 974-4998
Email: mariya@utk.edu

 


Lars Eriksson

Lars Eriksson
Adjunct Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

Professor, Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden
Scientific Advisor, Siemens Molecular Imaging


Piotr Szupryczynski

Peter Cohen
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Email:
peter.cohen@siemens.com.

 


Mohit Tyagi

Mohit Tyagi
SMRC Alumnus (Post-Doc)
Email: tyagimt@gmail.com


Hua Wei

Hua Wei
Graduate Student, Materials Science and Engineering
Email: hwei@utk.edu

 


Kan Yang
SMRC Alumnus (Ph.D. 2010)
Email: kyang5@utk.edu


Harold Rothfuss

Harold Rothfuss
SMRC Alumnus (Ph.D. 2013)
Email: harold.rothfuss@siemens.com

 


Kurt Johanns

Kurt Johanns
Graduate Student, Materials Science and Engineering
Email: kjohann1@utk.edu


Fang Meng
Graduate Student, Materials Science and Engineering
Email: fmeng2@utk.edu


Aaron Hall
SMRC Alumnus (undergraduate)
Email: ahall34@utk.edu

 


Bonnie Blalock
SMRC Alumnus (M.S. 2013)
Email: bblaloc3@utk.edu


Brett Lewis
SMRC Alumnus (undergraduate)
Email: blewis22@utk.edu

 


Breana Harvell
SMRC Alumnus (undergraduate)
Email: bharvell@utk.edu

Distinguished Visitors


Dr. William Moses

Dr. William Moses
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA

 


Marek Moszynski

Prof. Marek Moszynski
Deputy Director of the Soltan Institute for Nuclear Studies, Swierk, Poland


Dr. Wolfgang Rossner
Siemens AG, Corporate Technology, Munich, Germany

 


Prof. Akira Yoshikawa

Prof. Akira Yoshikawa
Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan

Collaborators


Claudia Rawn

Claudia Rawn
Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Joint appointment UT/ORNL
Email: crawn@ornl.gov

 


Drew Carey

A. Andrew Carey
Consultant, Siemens Molecular Imaging


Stephan Friedrich

Stephan Friedrich
Group Leader, Advanced Detectors
X-ray absorption spectroscopy at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

 

Nikoloz Jalabadze

Nikoloz Jalabadze
Professor, Georgian Technical University in Tbilisi, Georgia
Collaboration via the International Science and Technology Center (ISTC), working toward the development of new nanocrystalline scintillation materials.


Camden Hubbard

Camden Hubbard
Group Leader, Thermophysical Properties User Center
Email: hubbardcr@ornl.gov

High Temperature Materials Lab at Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Transmission electron microscopy at ORNL

 


Larry Allard

Larry Allard
Group Leader, Materials Analysis User Center

High Temperature Materials Lab at Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Transmission electron microscopy at ORNL

 

Contribute to a big idea. Give to UT.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System